England vs. Sri Lanka T20 Prediction - Can Lankan Lions Dominate in Overseas Conditions?

Zia Rana May 13, 2014 No Comment 48,634 views
Cricket Betting
vs Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka
ScheduleTuesday, 20 May 2014 at 17:00 GMT / 18:00 UK / 22:30 IST
VenueKennington Oval, London

Sri Lanka was the most commanding team of the ICC T20 World Cup 2014 and ended up with the top position in the tournament. England remained unimpressive throughout the event and was one among the bottom line squads. The Lankan Lions have played four matches in the shortest versions of the game against the English, they triumphed in three and lost just one. The current champions will be led by the speedster, Lasith Malinga, whereas Eoin Morgan will be the skipper of the home side.

Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga - The main threat for England

Players to watch

The batting line up of England will revolve around Eoin Morgan, Alex Hales, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler and Joe Root. Michael Carberry, Tim Bresnan and James Tredwell will try to dismiss the rival team within limits.

Two of the old war horses of the tourists, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara hanged their shoes in T20 after winning the T20 World Cup.

Tillakaratne Dilshan is the most experienced batsman of the Islanders and has smashed 1452 runs from 61 matches with 1 hundred and 9 fifties. Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal and Kusal Perera will make impression with the willow. Lasith Malinga is the supreme bowler around the world whereas Nuwan Kulasekara and Ajantha Mendis are at their best.

Time & Venue

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 @ 17:00 GMT, 18:00 local at Kennington Oval, London


Mostly cloudy evening with chances of rain and temperatures around 10-17ᵒC


The winner will bat first

The Pitch

The surface will assist the quick bowlers and the stroke players


England – Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Joe Root, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes.

Lasith Malinga (C), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Chaturanga de Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ashan Priyanjan, Sachithra Senanayake, Kithuruwan Vithanage.


Sri Lanka is favourite to win the encounter

0 0


Leave a Reply

You must be to post a comment.