Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan 2nd ODI Prediction

Zia Rana Aug 23, 2014 No Comment 66,063 views
Sri Lanka v Pakistan 2014
Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka
vs Pakistan
ScheduleTuesday, 26 August 2014 at 09:00 GMT / 10:00 UK / 14:30 IST
VenueMahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Sooriyawewa, Hambantota

The young batting duo of Sohaib Maqsood and Fawad Alam escalated Pakistan to a superb victory over Sri Lanka in the first One Day International. The visitors leads the three match series at 1-0 and must be looking forward to win the forthcoming encounter. The Islanders are capable of bouncing back and the second match will generate a lot of fight from both sides.

Sohaib Maqsood - 'Player of the match' in the first ODI
Sohaib Maqsood - 'Player of the match' in the first ODI

Players to watch

Angelo Mathews led his side from the front by smashing 89 runs and claimed two wickets in the first ODI. Mahela Jayawardene contributed 63 but the top brass of the Lankan Lions must give them a solid foundation for a giant score. Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara should stop the flow of runs with attacking bowling.

Sohaib Maqsood powered his career’s best unbeaten knock of 89  while Fawad Alam was instrumental with 62. Ahmed Shehzad played well whereas the skipper of Green Shirts, Misbah-ul-Haq along with Younis Khan are required to concentrate. Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Irfan bowled as per plans but Junaid Khan was quite expensive while the spin duo of Shahid Afridi and Mohammad Hafeez can play an important role.

Time & Venue

Tuesday, August 26, 2014 @ 09: 00 GMT, 14:30 local at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Sooriyawewa, Hambantota.


A mixture of clouds and sun with temperatures around 26- 30ᵒC.


The winner will opt to chase

The Pitch

A batting paradise and the bowlers must work hard for the positive results.


Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (C), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara , Mahela Jayawardena, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath.

Pakistan – Misbah-ul-Haq (C), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan.


Sri Lanka can come back in the series by winning the second game.

0 0


Leave a Reply

You must be to post a comment.