Sri Lanka vs. South Africa 1st Test Prediction

Zia Rana Jul 14, 2014 No Comment 62,380 views
Cricket Betting
Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka
vs South Africa
South Africa
ScheduleWednesday, 16 July 2014 at 04:30 GMT / 05:30 UK / 10:00 IST
VenueGalle International Stadium

The composed South African squad under the leadership of their run machine, Hashim Amla, will enter the first Test of the two match series against the hosts Sri Lanka with confidence. Earlier, the Proteas won the three One Day International series comprehensively while beating the Islanders 2-1. Both sides have faced each other 20 times in the longer version of the game, the visitors have won 10 games while the home side was successful on five occasions and five matches ended in a draw. The tourists are in great nick and will expect their team to produce more encouraging results whereas the Lankan Lions will try to make an impact as well.

AB de Villiers - Back to form
AB de Villiers - Back to form

Players to watch

The skipper of the Proteas, Hashim Amla, is in great nick along with AB de Villiers while Alviro Petersen, Jean-Paul Duminy and Quinton de Kock are stable batsmen. Imran Tahir will be a dangerous spinner, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Vernon Philander can create problems with their fast bowling for the home batsmen.

The batting of the Islanders will revolve around Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne and Dinesh Chandimal. Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis are their supreme spin bowlers whereas Shaminda Eranga, Dhammika Prasad and Angelo Mathews won them the last encounter against England.

Time & Venue

Wednesday, July 16 – Sunday, July 20, 2014 @ 04: 30 GMT, 10:00 local at Galle International Stadium


Weather doesn't look good, heavy rain and thunder shower are predicted. Match is likely to be abandoned.


The winning captain will opt to bat first

The Pitch

The surface will be ideal for the batsmen and the spinners will get a maximum support from it.


Sri Lanka – Angelo Mathews (C), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal,

Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jawardene, Suranga Lakmal,

Ajantha Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Dhamika Prasad, Kumar Sangakkara, Kausal Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kithuruwan Vithange, Chanaka Welegedara.

South Africa – Hashim Amla (C), AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Kyle Abbott, Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl.


South Africa can win the first Test

0 0


Leave a Reply

You must be to post a comment.