England vs. India 1st ODI Prediction

Zia Rana Aug 20, 2014 No Comment 126,354 views
England v India 2014
vs India
ScheduleMonday, 25 August 2014 at 09:30 GMT / 10:30 UK / 15:00 IST
VenueCounty Ground, Bristol

The Englishmen humiliated India in the recently concluded five Test series with a huge margin of 3-1 while beating the tourists all ends up. The forthcoming five One Day International series will be a different one since the Men in Blue are armed with the specialist players in that field whereas the home side is already in high spirit. The two nations have faced each other 87 in the ODIs, the Blue Shirts have won 47, England was successful on 35 occasions, two ended as tied and three finished without any result. The hosts were victorious 19 times out of 34 played on their soil, lost 12, one was tied and three had no result.

Joe Root - Highest run scorer in the Test series
Joe Root - Highest run scorer in the Test series

Players to watch

Joe Root along with Gary Ballance hammered more than five hundred runs against India in five Tests that included two hundreds from each of them. Alastair Cook, Ian Bell and Jos Buttler are in brilliant form whereas James Anderson, Moeen Ali and Chris Jordan form a dangerous bowling trio.

The skipper of India, MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane were the only batsmen among runs against England while their top scorer Murali Vijay is not a part of the ODI squad. The off colour Virat Kohli must come out of his shell and Shikhar Dhawan should play his natural game. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was their outstanding all-rounder and the rest of the bowling department will be looked after by Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav.

Time & Venue

Monday, August 25, 2014 @ 09:30 GMT, 10:30 local at County Ground, Bristol.


The match will be disturbed by rain with the temperatures around 13-18ᵒC.


The winner will prefer to bat first

The Pitch

A nicely laid down track for the limited overs game


England – Alastair Cook (C), Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, James Anderson, Steven Finn, Ben Stokes, Harry Gurney, James Tredwell.

India – MS Dhoni (C), Shikhar Dhawan,  Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Sanju Samson.


It will be different game altogether but still England will be the favourite to win it.

0 0


Leave a Reply

You must be to post a comment.