Northern Districts vs. Lahore Lions Prediction

Zia Rana Sep 13, 2014 No Comment 61,423 views
2014 Champions League Twenty20
Northern Districts
Northern Districts
vs Lahore Lions
Lahore Lions
ScheduleSunday, 14 September 2014 at 10:30 GMT / 11:30 UK / 16:00 IST
VenueShaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur

Lahore Lions surprised the mighty Mumbai Indians while defeating the latter by a vast margin of six wickets with eight balls still available. Earlier, Northern Districts won a comparative close game against Southern Express by seven wickets in 19.3 overs. Both sides have attained four points each from one game and the team clinching the forthcoming game will have a better chance of qualifying for the main round.

The jubilant Lahore Lions
The jubilant Lahore Lions

Players to watch

Kane Williamson played a match winning knock of 52 from 29 mere balls in their previous game while Daniel Flynn, Anton Devcich and Daniel Harris are fluent batsmen. Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Scott Kuggeleijn are excellent bowlers and Scott Styris is a fine all-rounder.

Umar Akmal demonstrated a thrilling unbeaten innings of 38 off 18 deliveries consisting two lofty sixes and 4 fours. The opening duo of Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shehzad shared an opening stand of 51 while Mohammad Hafeez was lousy with the willow. Aizaz Cheema and Wahab Riaz are their main bowlers whereas Asif Raza along with Imran Ali are providing a nice support.

Time & Venue

Sunday, September 14, 2014 @ 10:30 GMT, 16:00 local at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur.


Suitable conditions for the match with temperatures around 23-31ᵒC.


The winning skipper will opt to field.

The Pitch

Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur, was built in 2008, the inaugural match was played in 2010 and it has a seating capacity of almost 65,000. The nicely built track is totally suitable for the shortest versions of the game where batsmen and bowlers have equal chances of exhibiting their skills.


Northern Districts – Daniel Flynn (C), Kane Williamson, Anton Devcich, Daniel Harris, Scott Styris, Trent Boult, Scott Kuggeleijin, Daryl Mitchell, BJ Watling, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi.

Lahore Lions – Mohammad Hafeez (C), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Umar Siddiq, Saad Nasim, Imran Ali, Aizaz Cheema, Adnan Rasool, Asif Raza, Wahab Riaz.


Lahore Lions can achieve their successive victory of the tournament on the subcontinent wicket.

0 0


Leave a Reply

You must be to post a comment.